Canadian Security Magazine

Security Director of the Year

The Security Director of the Year award is awarded each fall to a senior security director or manager who has demonstrated leadership and achievement in the industry.

Nominations for 2022 are now CLOSED.


2021: Lina Tsakiris, Director, strategic security partnerships, corporate security, CIBC

2020: Harold Wax, Senior Director & Chief Security Officer, North America, BGIS

2019: Robert Kilfoyle, Director of public safety and emergency management, Humber College

2018: Silvia Fraser, Head of security, City of Mississauga

2017: James Armstrong, Vice-President of Security, Ottawa International Airport

2016: Patricia Patton, Director, Security and Operations, University of Regina

2015: Todd Milne, Director of Security Operations, University Health Network

2014: Tom Rousseau, Associate Vice-President, Corporate Security, Canadian Tire

2013: Sean Sportun, Manager of Security and Loss Prevention, Mac’s Convenience Stores, Central Canada

2012: Carol Osler, Senior Vice-President, Global Security and Investigations, TD Bank Group

2011: Thomas Gerstenecker, Unops’s Chief of Corporate Security

2010: Don Macalister, Frasers Health

2009: Ric Handren, Royal Bank of Canada

Jason Caissie
Profile Group
Ken Close
Ashley Cooper
Paladin Security
David Hyde
Hyde Advisory & Investments


Sherri Ireland
Security Exclusive
Mark LaLonde
Simon Fraser University
Bill McQuade
Final Image
Carol Osler
TD Bank


Tim Saunders
Sean Sportun