Canadian Security Magazine

ASIS Canada names 2020 Ron Minion Award recipient

By ASIS Canada   

Features asis canada editors pick government of canada ron minion stephane veilleux

During ASIS Canada’s recent Annual General Meeting, held virtually this year, the organization awarded its annual Ron Minion Award to Stéphane Veilleux, CPP.

Veilleux joined ASIS International in 1998 and earned his Certified Protection Professional (CPP) designation the same year. Veilleux is also the chair for the ASIS Montreal chapter, a position he has held on several previous occasions.

His professional security career spans almost 40 years and includes positions with the Canadian Forces, Pinkerton and Pharmascience. He is currently Security Project Manager for the House of Commons in Ottawa.

The Canadian Security Industry Pioneer award was established in 1999 to recognize the contributions of Canadian members of ASIS International who have distinguished themselves through contributions to the growth and professionalism of the security industry. The security practitioners that initiated the award looked not only at the contributions that individuals made to the Canadian Security Industry and contributions to ASIS International in Canada, but also to ASIS International globally.

Ron Minion, CPP, was the first recipient of the award in 1999 and was instrumental in bringing ASIS to Canada. He, along with others in western Canada, worked tirelessly to establish the first Canadian ASIS Chapter in Edmonton, and then later, in Calgary. Minion passed away after a lengthy battle with ALS, and the award was renamed The Ron Minion Award in his honour.

Past Winners:
1999 – Ron Minion, CPP
2000 – Denis O’Sullivan, CPP
2001 – Patrick Bishop, CPP
2002 – Dennis Shepp, CPP
2003 – Phill Banks, CPP
2004 – Howard Moster, CPP
2005 – David Tyson, CPP
2006 – Roger Maslen, CPP
2007 – John Rankin, CPP
2008 – Gary Vikanes, CPP
2009 – John Grady, CPP
2010 – Greg Hurd, CPP
2011 – Chris McColm, CPP
2012 – Bill Bradshaw, CPP
2013 – Geoff Frisby, PCI, CPP
2014 – Christina Duffey, CPP
2015 – Dan Popowich, CPP
2015 – Dr. Wayne Boone, CPP
2016 – Patrick Ogilvie, PSP, CPP
2017 – Parnell Lea
2018 – Marie Thibodeau
2019 – William Van Ryswyk, CPP

Print this page


Stories continue below