Canadian Security Magazine

Sloane Newton’s ASIS contributions recognized with Ron Minion Award

By Canadian Security Staff   

News asis canada editors pick ron minion award

Image courtesy ASIS Canada

The 2023 recipient of the ASIS Canada Ron Minion Award is Sloane Newton, CPP.

Newton has served in a variety of roles for ASIS, including chair of the Manitoba Chapter, assistant regional vice-president and regional vice-president. In 2020, she achieved the ASIS Certified Protection Professional (CPP) designation.

“Sloane’s incredible journey within ASIS Canada, Manitoba Chapter 198 has been nothing short of awe-inspiring,” stated ASIS Canada. “From her early days as an enthusiastic supporter of the Women in Security initiative, it was evident that she possessed something truly special. Her unwavering dedication and passion for our community radiated as she played pivotal roles in organizing events, conferences, and actively engaging in various capacities.”

The Canadian Security Industry Pioneer award was established in 1999 to recognize the contributions of Canadian members of ASIS International who have distinguished themselves through contributions to the growth and professionalism of the security industry. Ron Minion, CPP, was the first recipient of the award in 1999 and was instrumental in bringing ASIS to Canada. Minion passed away after a lengthy battle with ALS, and the award was renamed in his honour.


“Sloane’s relentless dedication, exceptional leadership, and continuous pursuit of knowledge make her the epitome of what the Ron Minion Award represents. Her dedication within ASIS Canada is an inspiration to us all, and we wholeheartedly congratulate her on this well-deserved honour,” added ASIS Canada.

Past Winners:
1999 – Ron Minion, CPP
2000 – Denis O’Sullivan, CPP
2001 – Patrick Bishop, CPP
2002 – Dennis Shepp, CPP
2003 – Phill Banks, CPP
2004 – Howard Moster, CPP
2005 – David Tyson, CPP
2006 – Roger Maslen, CPP
2007 – John Rankin, CPP
2008 – Gary Vikanes, CPP
2009 – John Grady, CPP
2010 – Greg Hurd, CPP
2011 – Chris McColm, CPP
2012 – Bill Bradshaw, CPP
2013 – Geoff Frisby, PCI, CPP
2014 – Christina Duffey, CPP
2015 – Dan Popowich, CPP
2015 – Dr. Wayne Boone, CPP
2016 – Patrick Ogilvie, PSP, CPP
2017 – Parnell Lea
2018 – Marie Thibodeau
2019 – William Van Ryswyk, CPP
2020 – Stephane Veilleux, CPP
2021 – Mark Folmer, CPP
2022 – Dr. Glen Kitteringham, CPP

Print this page


Stories continue below


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *