Security Director of the Year

The Security Director of the Year award, sponsored by Anixter Canada, is awarded each fall to a senior security director or manager who has demonstrated leadership and achievement in the industry. Nominations for 2018 are now CLOSED.

Past winners

2017 James Armstrong, vice-president of security, Ottawa International Airport

James Armstrong

2016 Patricia Patton, Director, Security and Operations, University of Regina


2015 Todd Milne, Director of Security Operations, University Health Network


2014 Tom Rousseau, associate vice-president, corporate security, Canadian Tire

SDOTY 2014

2013 Sean Sportun, manager of security and loss prevention,

Mac’s Convenience Stores, Central Canada



2012 Carol Osler, senior vice-president, global security and investigations, TD Bank Group


2010 Don MacAlister, Fraser Health

2009 Ric Handren, Royal Bank of Canada

Judging Panel

Jason Caissie
Profile Group

Jason Caissie
Profile Group

Ken Close
Trillium Health Partners

Ashley Cooper
Paladin Security

David Hyde
Hyde & Assoc.

Sherri Ireland
Security Exclusive

Mark LaLonde
Simon Fraser University

Bill McQuade
Final Image

Carol Osler
TD Bank

Theresa Rowsell
Kit and Ace

Tim Saunders

Sean Sportun
Mac’s Convenience Stores

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.