Canadian Security Magazine

Murphy named president of CSIS

Jennifer Brown   

News Public Sector

Kevin Murphy, senior manager of security operations at Woodbine Entertainment has been named the new president of the Canadian Society for Industrial Security (CSIS).

At its annual general meeting held during Security Canada Central
(CANASA) Oct. 19, Murphy was named to the post. Past-president Graham
Ospreay will remain on the board of directors, serving as chair of the
Canadian Security Certification Authority (CSCA), the body that
oversees the CSIS certification, ASP (Accredited Security Professional)
and will continue to monitor regulatory affairs and act as the CSIS
representative on issues including Bill 159 in Ontario and the Canadian
General Standards Board.

Also remaining on the CSIS board is executive director Bob Marentette,
director of security at the Hamilton Art Gallery; Martin Green, manager
of security and parking at Rouge Valley Health, serving as GTA chair;
Micheal McPherson, general manager Saskatchewan Housing Authorities who
will serve as Western Canada and Prairie Region chair.

The Atlantic Region Chair is Roger Miller of Northeastern
Investigations in Halfiax; Pacific Region Chair is Richard Andersen,
Securiguard Security of Victoria B.C. and Ontario Region chair is Brian
Roberston, security manager at Woodbine Racetrack Slots. Robertson will
also be responsible for regulatory and education issue.     The
National Capital Region chair is Dave Brush.

Regarding its financial picture, Ospreay said the society is “moving to
the black”and membership is nearing 300. It once claimed a membership
of more than 700.

For more information about membership, visit the CSIS website:

Print this page


Stories continue below