Canadian Security Magazine

ASIS announces annual Awards of Excellence

By Canadian Security Staff   

News ASIS International cs honours

ASIS International recently announced its annual list of Awards of Excellence winners.

Among the winners is Canadian Michael Brzozowski for the Don Walker CSO Center Security Executive Award.

Brzozowski is a multiple award winner, including Canadian Security’s inaugural Emerging Leader award in 2018.

“The annual ASIS Awards of Excellence honour the important work and accomplishments of ASIS members worldwide. They are honoured not only for their accomplishments but also for setting standards for the industry to model across the globe,” according to a statement issued by the association.


“Award recipients inspire global security professionals through their actions and efforts,” said Malcolm C. Smith, 2022 president, ASIS International. “From heroic actions on the job that saved lives to best-in-class Chapter performance to female security professionals who have consistently worked for the betterment of the security industry, these recipients serve as role models for the entire profession.”

The awards will be presented at the GSX conference on Tuesday, Sept. 13 from 4:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. at the Georgia World Congress Center.

2022 Award recipients


Individual Awards

President’s Award of Merit
Brigadier General Ahamed Mohammed Abdi, CPP, PCI, PSP
Danny Y. Chan

Don Walker CSO Center Security Executive Award
Michael Brzozowski, PSP, CPP, CISSP

E.J. Criscuoli, Jr., CPP, Volunteer Leadership Award
Stephen P. Somers, CPP

Ralph Day Memorial Security Officer Heroism Award
Aaron Wallace Salter Jr. – Allied Universal (Posthumous)
Christopher Deslands – Atlas Group (Honorable Mention)
Rahman Grimes – Sunstates Security (Honorable Mention)
Sponsored by: TEAM Software and Brownyard MacLean Specialty Insurance Services/Markel

Roy N. Bordes, CPP Community Member Award of Excellence
Inge Sebyan Black, CPP

Women in Security Global Community Karen Marquez Honors
Antoinette King, PSP
Suzanne T. Scarlett, PSP

Young Professional of the Year Award
Hari Pratap Singh Shekhawat, CPP

Chapter Awards

I.B. Hale Chapter of the Year Award
Lima, Peru (Honorable Mention)
North Texas (Honorable Mention)

Chapter Communications Award
Lima, Peru
United Kingdom
Nairobi, Kenya (Honorable Mention)
Singapore (Honorable Mention)

Outstanding New/Revitalized Chapter Award
Chapter Community Service Award
Lima, Peru
Jamaica (Honorable Mention)

Certification Awards

Professional Certification Board (PCB) Regional Certification Award
Jonathan Ensley, CPP, PSP (Region 8B – Columbia River)
Simon Muriuki Karuki, CPP, PCI, PSP (Region 10A – Nairobi, Kenya)
Michael B. Mann CPP, PSP (Region 4A – Middle Tennessee)
Jose Wilson Massa, CPP (Region 8A – Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Mark Joseph Vinculado, CPP, PCI, PSP (Region 13B – Philippine)
Selbourne Webb, CPP, PCI, PSP (Region 7B – Jamaica)
Ing Kerne Yeh, CPP (Region 13B – Singapore)

Professional Certification Board (PCB) Organizational Award of Merit
Guardsman Group of Companies (Jamaica Chapter)

Foundation and Publication Awards

ASIS Foundation Public Private Partnership in Excellence Grant in honor of Matthew Simeone
Antwerp SHIELD Belgium Police Department
Military Liaison Community Scholarships
Taras Bebeshko
Ranjen Bhatia
Ann Itodo
Oladejo Farinto Stephen Oloyede
Weston Whittenburg

Law Enforcement Liaison Community Scholarships
Christopher Ausec
Scott Gray

Security Industry Book of the Year
Principles of Emergency Management and Emergency Operations Centers (EOC), 2nd edition by Michael J. Fagel, Ph.D., CEM, Rick C. Mathews, MS, NRP (ret.) and J. Howard Murphy, PhD, FacEM, CEM, NRP


Print this page


Stories continue below


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *